Though its neighboring casino burned down, the majestic arch of the Towers (35 Ocean Rd., 401/782-2597, www.thetowersri.com , free) survived in all of its turn-of-the-century elegance. The 1886 building was designed by Boston  architects McKim, Mead & White, and is famous as the location where “clams casino” was invented. Now the building hosts a small museum with old photographs as well as lectures, dances, and musical performances.
One of the most picturesque lighthouses for miles, Point Judith Lighthouse (401/780-0444, www.lighthouse.cc/pointjudith ) is a 51-foot octagonal tower protecting a particularly treacherous rocky point.
Located on the estate of a former state governor, the South County Museum (Strathmore St., 401/789-5400, www.southcountymuseum.org , 10 a.m.–4 p.m. Fri.–Sat., 12–4 p.m. Sun. May–June and Sept.; 10 a.m.–4 p.m. Wed.–Sat., 12–4 p.m. Sun. July–Aug., $5 adults, $4 seniors, $2 children 6–12, free children under 6) has displays of antique furniture and clothing, as well as demonstrations of blacksmithing and carpentry.