321 S. 4th St., 215/925-7866
HOURS: Thurs.–Sat. noon–5 p.m., Sun. 1–5 p.m., last tour 4 p.m.
COST: $5 adult, $4 student and senior, free under 6
Named after the “father of American surgery,” Dr. Philip Syng Physick, the four-story federal-style home was built in 1768 by wine importer Henry Hill. It served as the home and office of Dr. Physick from 1815 to 1837.
It was here that he designed numerous revolutionary operative instruments, invented the stomach pump, pioneered the use of autopsy for research, and advanced cataract surgery. He also offered medical advice to presidents and created America’s first carbonated beverage. He even began an anti-smoking campaign way before his time.
The home was rehabilitated by the Annenberg family during the late 1960s, and it has been largely restored to its original character. French and colonial art and neoclassical furniture decorate the 1st floor, while the 2nd floor is entirely dedicated to Physick’s work, showcasing his surgical inventions.
The home contains one of the largest gardens in 19th-century Philadelphia , with a cobblestone path surrounded by lush plant life and grotto statuary.