Father Duncan’s Cottage (907/886-8687) —where the missionary lived from 1894 until his death in 1918—is open as a museum when cruise ships are in port or by appointment. The old photographs of Metlakatla  and the fascinating assortment of personal items owned by Duncan make a stop here a must.
Unique items housed within these walls include old glass fire extinguishers, an 1890 flag with 38 stars, and the second Edison phonograph ever made. Operated by a sewing machine treadle, it was given to Duncan by Edison. Duncan’s tiny bed (he stood just over five feet tall), old medical books, and medicines line the walls.
The rather run-down William Duncan Memorial Church (built in 1954) stands at the corner of 4th Avenue and Church Street. Duncan’s grave is on the left side.
A traditional longhouse (Mon.–Fri. afternoon summer) has been erected on the waterfront to stimulate local arts and crafts and to help recover the cultural traditions lost because of Duncan’s missionary zeal. The back of the building has three totem poles, and the front is decorated with Tsimshian designs.
Native dance performances take place when cruise ships are in port. Inside is a small library and a model of one of the floating fish traps that were used on the island for many years. An adjacent Artists Village, open when cruise ships are in port, has booths selling locally made crafts.
Metlakatla Tours (907/886-8687, www.metlakatlatours.net ) leads tours that include the Duncan house, artists village, and a dance performance at the longhouse. These often fill with cruise ship folks, but space may be available if you call ahead.
Locals celebrate the establishment of Metlakatla  each year on Founder’s Day, August 7. As with most other American towns, Metlakatla also has a parade and other events on the 4th of July.