The galleries of the Cooperstown Art Association (22 Main St., 607/547-9777, 11 a.m.–4 p.m. Mon.–Sat., 1–4 p.m. Sun., free admission) lie diagonally across from the Baseball Hall of Fame. Founded in 1928, the association showcases a variety of works ranging from contemporary to traditional.
Flanking Pioneer Street, which intersects Main Street by the flagpole, are some of the oldest buildings in the village. Foremost among them is the dark, low-ceilinged Smithy-Pioneer Gallery (55 Pioneer St., 607/547-8671, 10 a.m.–5 p.m. Tues.–Sat. and noon–5 p.m. Sun. June–Sept., free admission), part of which was built about 1786 by William Cooper. Originally a storehouse, the building was later converted into a blacksmith’s shop and now contains both historic artifacts and an art gallery.